WIP Wednesday: Beekeeper’s Quilt Hexipuffs

Having finished my most recent pair of socks, that meant it was time to put in a bit more effort on my long-term project, the Beekeeper’s Quilt~! I loved this pattern from the moment I saw the pictures for it–and I know I am not alone. It has a pretty devoted following and seems to enchant additional knitters every day!

There are a lot of different ways to make this quilt. Some people stuff their hexipuffs. Some use fiberfill, others wool, and others yarn scraps… Some people leave them flat. Some make them single-sided. Some decorate them with embroidery or intarsia or stranded colourwork. Some buy mini-skeins dedicated for hexipuffs. Others use only scrap yarn. Some people trade mini-skeins to increase variety. Some follow the puff directions as written; others modify cast on, cast off, increases, or decreases. Some use sock yarn. Others use heavier- or lighter-weight yarn. There is no one “right” way to make this blanket.

My hexipuffs use scrap sock yarn, generally follow the pattern instructions, and are lightly stuffed with fiberfill. (I have a few puffs that were made from mini-skeins that I received in swaps or from friends.) I don’t really like having leftover yarn when I finish a project, so this project is my ongoing “scrap yarn” project to abate that issue. As a result, I don’t regularly work on the hexipuffs. I only make them when I have leftover sock yarn.

I had leftover about 150 yards of the “Tokyo Creme” yarn used for my socks. This was enough for 12 hexipuffs with about a yard and a half left over. I started them on Sunday after finishing my socks and did 3 per day until Wednesday night.

I store my hexipuffs in a large plastic container along with the bag of fiberfill. It’s fun to look in that container and give the hexipuffs a toss. They’re so nice and squishy! When I glance in there, I can sometimes see the progress of my technique, as well. There are a few puffs that look a bit odd–maybe I decreased in the wrong area or tried a new cast-on. Some are stuffed too much. Others might be a bit under-filled. When I finally have enough to assemble them someday, it’s going to be every interesting to examine the little differences~

