6KCBWDAY2 – It’s All About You

This post can be about your reality, your aspirations, past, present or future. Enjoy talking about you. If you really don’t want to write about yourself, though, use your creative license and invent yourself an alternative persona, whether you are a spy, deep-sea diver or astronaut (who just happens to love yarn).

Photo May 11, 7 12 10 PM (1) For about 6 months I’ve been taking adult beginning ballet classes. As a result, a lot of my time and interest is focused on learning dance. I now read blogs like Adult Beginner (of course), Advance, and never halt, Kingdom of Style, Setting the Barre, and Tutus and Tea. (I keep trying to get into If the Pointe Shoe Fits, but she posts mostly videos and I almost never turn the sound on for my computer–so I’m always going, “Oh, I’ll watch that video later,” but I never do…) I love reading the Ballet Talk for Dancers forums, although I’m a bit too intimidated to post much.

I took ballet classes as a toddler, but I quit when I was in middle school, probably about age 11. I am pretty sure that I was no longer taking ballet by the time I started cheerleading. (Something I did only in middle school.) I don’t honestly remember all that much about ballet. I liked it, but only ambivalently. (If I were more serious about it, I wouldn’t have wanted to quit.) I took classes–probably once a week–at our local park district, and some of my hazy memories involve class levels being combined due to low attendance–and wondering if I’d only ever be in class with “babies.” I asked to stop taking class and my parents agreed.

As I got older, I started to reflect back on ballet and wish I were taking it again. I made an attempt to do so when I was attending community college. I kept trying to take ballet at the school, but I suspect I was the only person enrolling; it was cancelled all semesters that I attended. I eventually signed up for an adult class at the park district. I remember feeling vaguely disappointed; the class felt more like a low-stress workout than class. The teacher didn’t offer corrections or suggest any changes. I was the youngest person in the class by a significant margin, and it made me feel very out of place.

Late last year, I stopped fondly talking about taking class and started doing it. It was difficult to attend during the holidays, but I got into the habit as soon as I was back at home on my regular schedule.

Taking ballet class makes me very, ★very★ happy.

Some Rosy Day (in progress)When I started taking class, I really wanted to combine my love of knitting with my new passion–and what better way than legwarmers? ♥ Legwarmers are a staple of ballet attire. Due to an ordering miscommunication, I found myself with two skeins of Blue Sky Alpacas Alpaca Silk in “Quartz,” a lovely blush pink. In February the Tiny Owl Knits Ravelry group started a knit-along for “some cloudy day,” a free Tiny Owl Knits pattern. I snuck into the knit-along at the very beginning of March, but it wasn’t too hard to whip up some light pink legwarmers of my own.

legwarmers1I don’t wear them to class all that often, but when I do I always feel like there’s a bit of extra spring in my step~ There are all sorts of legwarmers out there that I could have purchased, but these are special because I made them. They are super cuddly and warm because they were made with alpaca and silk. (Most commercially available legwarmers are acrylic, which is more hard-wearing, but so far my legwarmers aren’t getting all that much wear.) I have plans to make even more–I’d love a longer thigh-high pair, and I have some really bright neon mini-skeins in my stash that I think would be very fun and eye-catching as legwarmers.

I’m no “ballerina,” but I am having a lot of fun as an adult beginner ballet student. It’s something I enjoy identifying with~ ♥

