5KCBWDAY7 – Looking Back, Looking Forward

If you took part in last year’s Knitting & Crochet Blog Week, look back on your Day Seven post. One year from now, when the 6th Knitting & Crochet Blog Week rolls around, where do you hope your crafting will have taken you to?

Looking Back

I did not participate in last year’s Knitting & Crochet Blog Week, so I’m going to look back to the Knitting Techniques Meme that I filled out in June 2013.

Overall, I am most proud of myself for successfully knitting a sweater. In fact, I’ve knit more than just one sweater–and that feels great. I love those sweaters a lot more than I do sweaters that I merely purchased, and I’m proud to have completed those projects.

I’m also happy to have made progress with stranded colourwork. I’m not proficient with it, but I was able to manage with it well enough to not only knit a project, but also unravel and re-knit that project without a tangled mess that could not be righted.

Techniques aside, I am very proud of myself for making serious progress on eliminating my stash. Right now my “stash” has very little in it. The very last bit of “old” yarn is the yarn from Ireland, being rapidly worked into my sweater. Other than that, there’s some new yarn that I just bought–already working on projects with that. If I keep up the flow of “yarn in < yarn out," I'll be doing fine.

Looking Forward

By this time next year, I would like to have at least four knit projects completed that I made just for the thrill and joy of making those projects, without any kind of obligation. I’m already heading in that direction, and it is so much fun that knitting because I feel like I “must.” I don’t have a captor tormenting me with some kind of “knit or die” scenario, but my feelings of obligation towards yarn and projects interfere with the amount of fun that I have. There are still a few “obligation” projects in my queue for the year, but I’d like the other projects to vastly outweigh those.

I want to keep my yarn under control. I don’t want to grow a new stash in the absence of the old.

I’d also like to buy some new knitting needles~ I really love having a collection of needles of different types and sizes. In a dream world I’d get some Lantern Moon ebony interchangeables, but more realistically the ChiaoGoo interchangeables and more of the fixed circulars are a good idea.

What’s Knitting and Crochet Blog Week?
