30 Days of Knitting: Day 22

Day 22: Have you ever stricken someone off your to-knit-for list because they didn’t appreciate/take care of your last knitted gift to them?

Yes, I have.

I truly enjoy gift giving. I prepare for the winter holidays with intense excitement. I love the challenge and thrill of finding the right item for the right person to express the right feeling. I try to understand the recipient. Some people buy gifts because they personally believe the gift is awesome. I prefer to buy gifts because I believe the recipient will view the gift as awesome, regardless of my own opinion of the gift in question. I know that not every gift I give will be the right gift; when that happens, I try to take in that information to make better gift choices in the future.

This applies to knit gifts as well as purchased or other handmade gifts.

When I took up knitting again while in graduate school, I knit many gifts for many people. I knit projects that I didn’t personally want to keep in colours I don’t like from fibers I am not fond of. I knit these things because I wanted the variety. Some of these knit gifts became beloved items. Some of these knit gifts were discarded by the recipient.

Not everyone values a knit gift. It’s not worthwhile for me to knit gifts for people who are not interested in receiving knit gifts. I put time and effort into something that is unsatisfactory as a gift. I’m pushing my love of knitting onto someone else in gift form, rather than thinking about what they might like best.

So, as a general rule, I don’t knit for everyone I know. They don’t all want knit things. I’m okay with that. It’s better for both of us if I accept that.

And the people that adore and value knit gifts will be showered in knit gifts until they indicate they no longer want them. 🙂

