30 Days of Knitting: Day 19

Day 19: Do you watch movies and/or listen to podcasts while knitting? What are your favorite things to knit to?

I always watch movies when I knit! I think it makes it more fun. I’m not really the sort of person who is comfortable watching a movie with their full attention. When I was younger I would frequently watch movies while typing on my computer or playing other games. While this was fun, I’d usually have to watch a movie more than once to really understand all of it.

I find that with knitting, I can still pay a decent amount of attention to the action on-screen, but my hands are occupied and I don’t get fidgety.I started this habit when I was in college, living in a dorm. I’m not a very socially active person. I love good conversation and spending time with friends, but I’m not comfortable in unfamiliar social situations. When I was living on campus, I couldn’t find a public gathering area that made me feel comfortable. I should have joined a club of some kind so that I wouldn’t have been making totally random introductions to complete strangers, but I didn’t. I didn’t connect with my dorm roommate or many of my classmates, so I didn’t have much to do when I wasn’t studying. My downtime activity became drinking tea and watching anime on my computer. (I like Hollywood movies, but I don’t like streaming them unless I own the digital copy–and when I was in college that wasn’t something I had gotten on board with.)

I still felt kind of bored and restless, but then I uncovered my old yarn stash when I was emptying a suitcase to use to tote things to and from my mother’s house and my dorm room. I started knitting again because it was easy to do alongside the previously-mentioned tea drinking and anime watching.

Now I watch a variety of things, as I knit in my home within easy access of the movies and shows I like the most. 😀

