30 Days of Knitting: Day 16

Day 16: Have you ever had a knitting related injury?

“Knitting related injury” sounds very dramatic, like I’ve lost an eye or something. I can say, thankfully, that I have never been horribly maimed as a result of knitting.

That said, I technically have been hurt from knitting–and from what I understand, both of my ailments are common.

1. Poked fingers

I push the working needle back with my index finger. I’m basically stabbing myself in the finger over and over again. If the needles are sharp, sometimes I’ve bruised the fingertip or drawn blood. Thankfully I can still knit with a band-aid wrapped around my index finger, but it’s not ideal. I’ve tried thimbles, but they’re too awkward to make me want to stick with them as a preventative measure. If it really bothers me, I’ll have to learn to knit differently.

2. “Yarn burn”

I guide the yarn over my fingers to control the tension; that’s just part of knitting. Certain yarns, particularly acrylics, rub against my fingers over and over until that particular spot becomes raw or cracked.

See, neither of those are so bad. I’m definitely not going to stop knitting due to minor “injuries” like those! XD

