30 Days of Knitting: Day 13

Day 13: Do you have yarn that you love but can’t find a project for?

Thankfully, this is no longer true! However, for a long time I did have a yarn that fit this profile exactly.

Mink and Cashmere

50% mink and 50% cashmere = 1000% soft

When I attended Vogue Knitting Live! Chicago in 2012, I fell in love with a handspun mink and cashmere blend that a vendor in the marketplace was selling. It was expensive, but I didn’t care. I bought just under 400 yards of it…and then couldn’t figure out what the heck to do with it! It sat in my stash for months on end and I didn’t even have an idea of what to do.

I tried to knit a cowl with it, but I didn’t really have anything in mind…and I didn’t like what the project was turning out to be. (Not to mention that I don’t really wear cowls.) I wanted to use this yarn for something that I’d love! I loved the yarn, so it was really important to me that I also love the project.

Happily, I put my mind to this dilemma in late May, and finally converted this lovely yarn into several lovely knit items–a slouchy hat, wrist warmers, a hair accessory, and baby mittens! ♥

