30 Days of Knitting: Day 12

Day 12: Where do you keep your stash? Post pictures!

Yarn and Accessory Storage

I’ve managed to keep all of my yarn and knitting supplies in these two portable bags.

My stash generally lives in what I refer to as “the knitting suitcase.” It’s a moderately sized gray suitcase with many, many pockets; for a long time it was my primary travel suitcase. I started storing my knitting supplies in this suitcase when I was in university. At the time, I no longer to use that suitcase for travel but I was not quite settled down in terms of where I lived. I wanted a way to tote all of my knitting supplies with me without misplacing or losing anything. It needed to be a portable storage solution, too, so that it could come with me when I moved from place to place.

This suitcase has two zippered outer pockets–one about as large as the entire front panel of the suitcase and the other much smaller. It has a zippered mesh pouch and a pocket with an elastic gathered opening on the inside of the top side. Inside the body of the suitcase there are two zippered pockets along the longer sides, and one zippered pocket at the bottom of the shorter edge where the cover hinges. It has two buckled straps to hold contents into the open area.My storage method keeps my supplies separated into different pockets.

Gray Yarn Suitcase Interior

In the back, knitting books are strapped down. The side pocket to the left holds pom-pom makers–that teal thing is another pom pom maker. The side pocket to the right contains DPNs 6″ or longer. There’s another pocket behind the books that stores little tags to include with knit gifts. There is yarn in the white plastic bag.

Gray Yarn Suitcase Top Pockets

Fixed circular needles are stored in the mesh pocket. Other notions are in the elasticated pocket below.

Crochet Hooks

This crochet hook case is stashed in a very small zippered exterior pocket on the suitcase’s lid. This makes it easy to access the crochet hooks when I drop a stitch.

Interchangeables and More

In the larger zippered exterior pocket, I keep the cases for my interchangeable circular needles and short DPNs.

Right now I have an auxiliary yarn storage tote. When my grandmother passed away earlier this year I inherited her yarn and knitting supplies. One of her knitting supplies was a wheeled craft tote. It has yarn that does not currently fit in the knitting suitcase, almost all of which was originally Nana’s. I’m also using it to hold some pattern pamphlets and longer needles. I’m probably going to pass the tote along to my mom to store some of her yarn in once I knit through what I have.

Inside the Green Tote

The yarn in the black bag was not originally my Nana’s, but all the other yarn was.

Fully Packed Green Tote

The yarn is usually covered by this bag of fiberfill. I’m using it for the Beekeeper’s Quilt, but I needed somewhere to keep it out of the way when I’m not making hexipuffs.

Green Tote Side Pocket

This non-divided pocket houses pattern pamphlet books and individual patterns, such as photocopies.

Green Tote Other Side Pocket

This pocket is divided to fit needles or other craft tools, but the sewn-in pockets aren’t deep enough to hold these longer needles, so they’re just in the main pocket. The green case with pink floral is also a needle case.

I really love the design and ingenuity of craft rooms and more permanent yarn storage, but I don’t think that’s going to be a reality for me until I live in a much bigger home than my tiny apartment. 😉

