30 Days of Knitting: Day 10

Day 10: Do you have a favorite pattern or designer?

I have a few favourite designers. I haven’t necessarily knit something from all of them, but I admire their patterns enough to count them as favourites.

Tiny Owl Knits

One of my favourite designers is Tiny Owl Knits. Her patterns are adorable and whimsical. They have a dreamy fairy tale forest quality to them. I’ve only purchased and used the pattern for the Beekeeper’s Quilt, but it’s not the only one that I like.

The Purl Bee

The blog for Purl Soho probably shouldn’t count as just one designer, since there are many talented individuals involved. My favourite thing about the patterns from the Purl Bee is that they are beautiful in their simplicity. There’s rarely anything “fussy” or “overdone” for the knitting patterns. They post a lot of other amazing craft patterns for different hobbies, too!

Stitches in Time

I think Franklin Habit is a fascinating person with lots of talent. His photography is amazing, his knitting comics are funny, and his blog is never boring. More than anything else, I love the historical patterns he translates/fixes/interprets/improves for Knitty!

Pink Bow Hat

I like that this hat is simple, but not quite the sort of thing you’d buy in a store. It’s also very stretchy, so it can fit a baby’s head for more than a short period of time.

As far as a favourite pattern goes, I think that would be the Isabella Bonnet by Judit Flier. It’s becoming my go-to baby hat for baby girls. As a warning, the pattern is kind of confusing. (Not that it’s hard–it’s just that sometimes the instructions don’t quite seem to match up.) I used it as a guide, and now I just kind of go along at my own pace and based on the picture of the finished hat. I am sure I’ll be making more in the future.

