30 Days of Knitting: Day 3

Day 3: Do you have any other WIPs (works in progress)?

Besides the socks, my only other WIP is my ongoing project: the Beekeeper’s Quilt. I really love the patterns that Tiny Owl Knits releases~ ♥

Hexipuffs

These use up some leftovers from the two most recently finished pairs of socks I’ve made. I like the contrast more than I thought I would.

I know that it’s rather unusual to not have a bevy of projects in progress at any given time, but with some rare exceptions I am a single-project knitter. I like to have everything finished, and I don’t like to jump back and forth from project to project. It works for quite a lot of people, but makes me feel stressed and unmotivated.

When I was a little girl, there was a quilt at my Nana’s house that was one of my favourite things ever. It was a quilt made of puffy, individually-stuffed “boxes” sewn together. It reminded me of a computer keyboard or telephone keypad. I loved it. My strong memories of this puffy quilt left my heart open for a new puffy quilt, and the Beekeeper’s Quilt fits that open space perfectly!

Although I saw it and loved it soon after it was released, I didn’t start it until early April. At first I put it off due to a lack of fingering weight yarn…but then I started knitting socks and I loved making them! However, I didn’t keep the yarn from the earlier pairs of socks that I knit; I mailed them to a friend for her Beekeeper’s Quilt. I had a scheme of color-coordinating my Beekeeper’s Quilt–making it less of a scrap project and more of a planned investment in yarn and time. I thought I’d pick colours that I like and follow a theme for placement of finished hexipuffs.

Hexipuffs

There are quite a few more pink hexipuffs than the whiter ones, but I’m hopeful that there will be a good mix when it’s time to assemble the quilt.

I changed my mind in late March. The idea of buying yarn just for the project started to sound like less and less of a good idea the more pairs of socks that I knit. The thought of having little reminders of past socks started to sound kind of cute and nostalgic. As I looked at others’ Beekeeper’s Quilts, I found myself drawn to the ones with more variety rather than less variety.

I anticipate that this will be my ongoing project for a very long time. It’s my continual scrap-using project for all the socks I plan to knit in the future. ♥

