30 Days of Knitting: Day 2

Day 2: What is currently on your needles?

My husband loves handknit socks. He loves handknit socks the way most knitters wish somebody loved handknit socks: so full of thankfulness and happiness that he wants to tell everyone else about how sweeeeeeeet his handknit socks are. It definitely makes knitting socks for him feel like a good use of my time when his reactions are so positive. 🙂

Within the last few weeks I’ve inherited a lot of yarn from my late grandmother. She did much more shopping than knitting during the more recent years of her life, because the medications and therapies left her so tired. Among the yarn was a large bag of Koigu Painter’s Palette Premium Merino (KPPPM). I am not fond of variegated yarn, but my sock-loving husband was all about more socks made of the new-to-us sock-weight yarn.

Dark Painted Socks

I’ve never used Koigu Painter’s Palette Premium Merino before, but they do have the type of hue depth I like for yarn.

Thus, socks they shall become! These are simple ribbed socks that aren’t following a pattern. I’ve already turned the heel and am now zooming down the foot of sock #1. I’m hoping to start sock #2 before the weekend is out! ♥ Hurry, hurry!

Dark Painted Socks

The pooling of variegated yarn always bothers me. I’ve been trying not to notice it.

I think I can do it if I don’t slow down!!!

